Countdown to MDF X: (42) Nasum

When someone dies suddenly, it often leaves those left behind with a sense that things were left unfinished. This is how Sweden’s Nasum on their website described their state of mind for the last seven years since the tragic death of their frontman Mieszko Talarczyk in the 2004 tsunami in Thailand.

This year, however, the remaining members of the grindcore group have decided to reform one last time with Keijo Niinimaa  from Rotten Sound on vocals and complete the work their late friend had started. So the band’s performance Friday, May 25 at the Maryland Deathfest will be bittersweet. The MDF X appearance falls right in the middle of  about 27 confirmed dates of their Farewell Tour throughout Europe and North America. Their final show will be at Wacken in August.

Nasum formed in 1992.  The song in the video here, “Wrath,” was taken from the 2004 album Shift and is reportedly the band’s only music video.

Here’s the line-up for Nasum 2012: Anders Jakobson – drums, Jesper Liveröd – bass and low vocals , Jon Lindqvist – guitars and low vocals, Urban Skytt – guitars, and Keijo Niinimaa – vocals.

Photo by Terése Andersson

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: